Quick Thoughts: The Wolf Among Us

The Wolf Among Us Cover

I’m a complete stranger when it comes to Telltale’s new brand of story telling. I’ve dabbled in Back to the Future and Sam and Max’s wacky adventures along with frequenting the Inventory for a round of Poker but their newer works with The Walking Dead is completely alien to me. Last summer saw the release of The Wolf Among Us, the second of Telltale’s ventures in recreating franchised worlds namely the Fables series. I’ve never heard of this series until now but took an instant liking to it because of the recognisable fairy tales in a dark urban environment.

Steam’s Winter Sale finally got it’s hooks into me and I ended up buying the whole first season, completing it the same day. Yeah it’s pretty good.

The menu screen for The Wolf Among Us is spectacular. One of my favourite things in the game

The menu screen for The Wolf Among Us is spectacular. One of my favourite things in the game

Telltale has an uncanny ability of creating an immersive atmosphere that sucks you in like a good television shows. But they give you command of how the scene plays out making Bigby’s actions your actions. In this way, I applaud them for allowing me to play my dream role of a no nonsense detective in a corrupt broken town. Bigby Wolf is the kind of character archetype I can get behind. Hard drinking, chain smoking, cynical gumshoe with a soft spot for dames. LA Noire dabbled in this but was was centred around the golden boy Cole Phelps. The Wolf Among Us is where the real gritty detective work gets done.

Spotting familiar fairy tale stars with excellent voice work was a joy to behold.

Spotting familiar fairy tale stars with excellent voice work was a joy to behold.

However this game does not go well with repeated play throughs. Going through a chapter again, you understand how the dialogue system works. You see the emperor without his clothes and it’s not as impressive. When you’re in the heat of the moment; the timer is ticking and you have to make a tricky option, this is where the game excels. It makes you question yourself and all the choices you have made. But when you play through again and end up at the same spot, you understand that it was a set piece moment. No matter what you did previously, it all leads to this moment taking a lot of the suspense away from the scene.

TWAU

Finishing the game felt underwhelming enforcing the old saying ‘it’s the journey not the destination’. From a value perspective after completion, I wouldn’t say it was worth the RRP. But if you had asked me after completing an intermediate episode, I would’ve have shelled out an unreasonable amount for the promise of knowing what happens next. I think this is the TV fan inside me talking. Never happy with any finale but relish the opportunity to watch more.

I love the characters, I love the setting, I love the gameplay. The Wolf Among Us is one of my favourite games I’ve played this year and I’m hungry like the wolf for a second season.

Leave a Reply

